Job and Suffering Part 1(Intro)

Job and Suffering

Hey everyone! Let’s get into the Word God has put into my heart today.

So, today I want to focus on suffering. I know, not quite the “comfortable blog”, but I feel we all need to know a little more about suffering, how it works, and why it’s good for us. For the next couple of days or so I will be focusing on the book of Job. Job suffered a lot in this book and I believe we can learn much from him and his suffering.

Lord I pray that you open our hearts and minds to the Scripture I am about to speak about. I pray you give me the words to say. I pray that after I write this blog and after people read it, we all walk away from it with a better understanding of suffering. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

If you have your bible with you I would like to encourage you to take it out and turn to Job 1. In the first few verses of chapter 1 we learn a lot about Job. He was blameless and upright; he feared God and shunned evil. He owned a great amount of sheep, camels, oxen, donkeys, and servants. Job was a very wealthy man yet stayed very humble. He loved his children so much that whenever they got together and partied, Job would sacrifice an offering just in case they sinned or cursed God in their hearts. It seems Job’s life is great and he is a great God-fearing man, so as we read this we think “what could go wrong”? Job is a good person nothing bad should happen to him, right? No, that’s where we are wrong, hence, we have the age old question “Why do bad things happen to good people”?

But I am getting way ahead of myself so let’s look at verse 8-11.

Then the Lord said to Satan, “Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.”

9“Does Job fear God for nothing?” Satan replied. 10“Have you not put a hedge around him and his household and everything he has? You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land. 11 But now stretch out your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face.”

When Job had everything going great in his life he had nothing against God. Many of us are happy with God when we have everything going right in our lives, but what about when things don’t start going the way we’d like. We all are quick to say that we’d always stay loyal to God through anything and everything, but if we take our time and actually think about it we truthfully don’t know how we would respond to something that doesn’t work out the way we’d like it to. Would you blame God? Would you be angry with God? All of us will endure suffering or have endured suffering. Suffering is inevitable to happen. I am not saying this to cause you to fear, no, I’m saying this because we need to start rooting ourselves in God’s Word and Truth so we can be ready for that season to come. So, start reading your bible daily and be prepared…we’ll dive deeper into the purpose of suffering next post.
See ya soon! And REMEMBER…YOU ARE LOVED.


 

 

6 thoughts on “Job and Suffering Part 1(Intro)

  1. Reblogged this on McSellers Thought Of The Day and commented:
    #MUSTREAD.. Please take a moment when you can and read this blog post written by my daughter. I must admit when I started reading this I forgot that a teenager wrote this because of the depth of the truth written in it. But I was quickly reminded what Paul told Timothy. 1 Timothy 4:12 (NIV)

    12 Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.

    There’s no such thing as perfect or perfect kids or family and we’re not perfect parents but one thing I can say is that this writing shows that even though we’re not perfect by Gods grace we’re doing something at least a little right. I’m so proud of this young ladies heart and proud to call her my daughter!! Her heart is for her generation and the youth under her so if you know anyone in her age group or younger don’t hesitate to share this with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

